Should we wake Him up?

Mark 4:35-41

This is the story of Jesus calming the storm. One I have read over and over again, learned about as a child in Sunday school class, and honestly, could recite back to you fairly accurately (which is saying a lot because I ain’t very good at memorizing things!).

In the midst of raising financial support for the ministry I am involved with, God has continued to teach me so much more than I could ever imagine. I no longer feel the need to fulfill all the desires and dreams of my heart. My dreams…. are His dreams. Unfortunately, I am not really sure what His dreams are for me right now. So… meanwhile, I am stuck in a limbo waiting for Him to show me a way. FORTUNATELY, I still get to spend all that time learning more about Him.

Back to the passage…..

I read this again the other day and was struck by the way Jesus responds to the disciples. I know, if I were in that boat, in a chaotic storm… that would most likely kill me and all the men in the boat with me, I would probably wake Jesus up too and be deathly afraid.

How do you live out this passage? What else should the disciples have done?

Again, I would wake Him up! Crazy Jesus, sleeping in a boat that is about to flip over most likely! But when they wake Him up… He responds with this: “Have you no faith? Why are you afraid?”

 

So, what does this mean in our day to day life?

I guess it means that when things are really bad, to the point that we are sure things will fall a part, whether it is our emotions, our family, our job. We should not respond with such fear, that we believe God will not leave us.

This doesn’t necessarily mean God will snap His finger and our problems will disappear, but that He will save us in what way He knows is best for us.

 

Thus, in the midst of troubles, do not always respond with crying out to God in fear, worrying that the waves will wash over you, but trust God’s will and timing.

I talked to my lovely mentor about this passage the other day, wondering what her take was on how Jesus responded to the disciples actions.

She reminded me that before they had gotten into the boat, Jesus had said to them, “Let us go over to the other side.” So, they knew they would make it there, Jesus said so. BUT, they assumed the journey would be smooth, they would be in no danger. Doesn’t that remind you of something? LIFE, perhaps!!

He tells us, if we have faith in Him, then we will make it to heaven. Will we live eternity with Him in peace and paradise. He never says that the journey to that will be easy. And, even if He seems like He is sleeping… well, honestly, take that as comfort. Because if He isn’t worried, then you shouldn’t be either.

Leave a Reply

