Don’t Listen to Them

Mark 8:31-33 (passage will be at the bottom of the page)

Jesus Predicts His Death

 

This passage, is one we all must apply to our own lives.

God will call us to do things sometimes that make very little sense.

For me, I graduated with a degree in conservation biology. I volunteered at the Phoenix Zoo for 7 years. I dreamed of working on a game reserve in Africa. But, God called me to missions, for now. And the stirring in my heart is telling me to abandon those dreams for Christ and His plan for me.

So, here’s where the passage comes into play.

Jesus knows what He has been sent to do. He knows the plan and that He will do it. He shares this with the disciples.

Peter responds, with what I imagined was,” You’re crazy Jesus! That won’t happen! I wouldn’t let it happen to you!”

This wasn’t Peter necessarily speaking, but Satan using Peter’s pride and own desires to tempt Jesus away from His father’s plan.

Thus, when you feel called by God to something, it’s probably because God knows He can use you in a huge way to advance His kingdom. Satan wants to stop that!

Others will absolutely not understand. They will rebuke you, even other believers will do this. I’ve already had too many people scold me for not using my degree or they do not take me seriously because of my age.

That’s why you must respond like Jesus. Never allow others’ ideas and words to haunt you and hurt God’s will for your life. Guard yourself as you would against Satan when others do not understand.

“They do not have in mind the  concerns of God, but merely human concerns.”

Jesus Predicts His Death

31 He then began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders, the chief priests and the teachers of the law, and that he must be killed and after three days rise again. 32 He spoke plainly about this, and Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him.

33 But when Jesus turned and looked at his disciples, he rebuked Peter. “Get behind me, Satan!” he said. “You do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.”

 

Leave a Reply

