Jesus is Present

Bear with me in this post. I wrote it in the midst of waiting in line for hours upon hours at Disneyland. I am not sure if my thought process was 100% clear, but God reveals things to us through all situations whether we are tired or not. 😉

Mark 14:6-8

“Leave her alone,” said Jesus. “Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you,[a] and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial.

Jesus is not physically present with us now, but we should still pour perfume on Him.

It’s a bit like the story of Mary and Martha. Martha forgets to focus on Jesus because she is worried and stressed over preparations. In this passage, people are criticizing the actions of this woman who poured out expensive perfume onto Jesus’ feet.

Now, Jesus tells them, “She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you. But you will not always have me.”

Jesus is probably, simply referring to the fact that He will be leaving His life on earth soon, therefore spend that time focused on Him. Still, I can’t help but take more from this.

As we spend our day so focused on how to spend our money and time, worrying over what we didn’t or did do, stressing over the smallest details of life, all He wants us to do is to focus on Him a lone.

That is what He is constantly trying to teach us. He gives and takes away to show us He is the constant one, He is what we should always be seeking, serving, pleasing.

And truly, when you make Him bigger than everything else, life takes a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

