You can’t Camp on a Mountaintop

Psalm 51:10-12

 
The biggest struggle I have right now, is remaining passionate about Christ.
Of course I still love him above all others and I believe in His death and resurrection, as well as His sovereignty. I still want to do His will and not my own.
But, I once felt so close to Him, so in tune, so peaceful and now, everything “feels” silent. I know it is my fault and Satan’s that I feel this way, but I believe we all have moments of silence in our walk with God.
Sometimes He is silent to teach us something. Sometimes we are so distracted by other things, we don’t hear Him, even if we think we’re listening.
In a perfect world, we would always be on fire for Christ, but it is not a perfect world but a broken one.
Oswald Chambers wrote about how sometimes we are on the “mountaintop” with God, meaning we see as close as we can His perspective, it’s beautiful, we’re joyful, peaceful, relaxed, and close to Him. But we don’t and can’t stay on the mountaintop because we are not in heaven yet. In fact, God is so gracious and loving to give us “mountaintop” moments at all.
No, we mostly live in the “valley”, which often means life is mundane or rough or sometimes life is easy but we no longer see His perspective or feel as close.
These are the times we must persist and remain faithful.
But, it’s hard to do that. So, Psalm 51:10-12 is my prayer for myself and all of you.
Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.
He never casts us from His presence of takes the Holy Spirit from us, but take heart in the fact that the writer of this Psalm had felt that silence, has lived in the valley like you and He saw the mountaintop again.
Leave a Reply

