Thrive

Psalm 52: 8-9

8 But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. 9 For what you have done I will always praise you  in the presence of your faithful people. And I will hope in your name, for your name is good.

Sometimes I truly forget where I flourish.
I am sure everyone has felt like a superstar in some situation or another. When I volunteer at the zoo, my job is to mentor and supervise teens. Often times they really like me and I have moments where I essentially feel like the star of the show; they all love me, they all listen, and I feel like I can do no wrong.
I’ve had other times where I have felt similar and for a moment I think, “Life is good. I’m doing all right.” And, I forget that I always need God and nothing is my own.
So here’s the deal… you can not flourish anywhere truly but in the House of God. I do not mean at church, because often times church can be a place we struggle to flourish, but if we live in the presence of God, we will flourish.
As long as we seek Him first and foremost, as long as we don’t become self centered and self serving, we will flourish in His house.
In no way does this mean life will be easy, but if we are an olive tree in His house always, He’ll water us and care for us no matter our circumstances.
Leave a Reply

