Who Needs Armor?

David and Goliath

1 Samuel 17

I never thought I would read the story of David and Goliath and identify with it so much.. to the point that I underlined verse after verse. I don’t consider myself a very brave person, like David, nor have I ever really faced a true Goliath, but ten again, all of us have a Goliath in our life even if it is smaller than “six cubits” high.

It’s the doubt in others toward David that struck me first. When we face an obstacle, a Goliath, whatever it may be, others will doubt your capability to conquer it, even if they do not intend to.

My Goliath right now is raising financial support so that I can continue to be involved in a particular ministry. People have certainly doubted my ability, some bluntly, others with small remarks of discouragement or criticism. One of the biggest doubts I feel like I face is exactly what David faces.

Verse 31, “You are not able to go out against this Philistine and fight them; you are only a young man, and he has been a warrior from his youth.”

How often do I feel my age puts doubts in others minds, including me own! Your situation might be different. Maybe it’s not age, but experience, intelligence, finances that others doubt. Whatever it is, I am sure you have a Saul placing doubt in your mind even if it is your own voice doing it.

 

But then David responds with talking about the Lord’s power (which we should do too). God had been preparing David to face Goliath, unbeknownst to David. I am sure he oftend wondered why he was sitting around watching sheep, what would that teach him, where would he ever go from there. But then as he faced Goliath he realized the Lord had used those times to prepare him

I promise you, He is also shaping you or has shaped you so you can face and conquer your own Goliath.

Still, remember what David ultimately says in response, (verse 37) “The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of the Philistine.” I can’t do this on my own, but the Lord will save me! Like David, we must trust in His power, His strength, His character, and His promises.

Here comes my favorite part of the story…..

Now Saul dresses David in full body armor: a sword, helmet, and his own tunic.

David feels strange and he says in verse 39 to Saul, “I cannot go in these because I am not used to them.” And he takes them off!

Firs of all, is he crazy?! Let’s go face a giant without armor and a sword. Oh! and let’s insult the king by refusing his armor and tunic!

Here’s how we can relate. God has built each of us uniquely, with different talents, personalities, and strengths. When we face our Goliath, others may givue us advice and tell us how to defeat the Goliath, usually telling us how they would personally do it.

For example, as I raise support, I’ve been told to do so many different things that are against my character and strengths. The advice isn’t bad, but it changes who I am, who God made me to be.

So, I love that David removes the armor, takes up his stones and sling, and defeats Goliath. God used David’s strengths, character to defeat the giant. David didn’t have to change who he was to win. He had to be brave, use the gifts God had given him, and trust in the Lord.

You also should not stop using your God given gifts because people think you’re wrong and crazy. The Lord shaped you for a purpose. If you’re facing your Goliath remember this: in response to doubts, trust in the Lord, use your God-given talents even when others thing you’re wrong, and rely on the Lord’s power completely.

Leave a Reply

