1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

“Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life. You should mind your own business and work hard with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.”

Did you read that? What is it that wins respect from outsiders? Pomp and Circumstance? Shouting the gospel at them?

Nope.

A quiet life and hard work.

A quiet, humble life is something I desperately seek. I do not always have a problem with the quiet part (though some would be to differ 😉 ), serving in many behind the scenes, thankless jobs, but humility is a struggle.

Again, I often find my heart seeking recognition. Humility, to me, is a quiet heart, quiet mouth, eyes only on Jesus kind of life. Because I have struggled with humility, I have in turn become “dependent on” others. I think those three words (anybody_ are very much affected by our attitudes and heart. For example, because I seek recognition, my confidence and mood is still very much dependent on the words of others, their actions, even their views of me.

If I gave up on my desire for a thank you, I would walk around freer. I would not be dependent on anybody’s response to what I do. However, I care too much about what they think and that holds me back from being quiet, humble, from even winning respect from outsiders.

Perhaps you are struggling with that too?

If we strive and seek to live the quiet life in these verses, we will find ourselves less dependent on others ideas of us and more “on our Lord and Savior”. So keep fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

