God’s Sight

1 Peter 3:4

“the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

I read that and think, “No guy cares or notices a nice girl, unless she is also beautiful, thin, and a million other outwardly attractive things.”

I can’t help but think that way when I have worked on my inner life, when I have treasured humility, kindness, and love. Yet, very few men seem to find me even the least bit interesting.

But wait!

Where does it even say in this passage that having a gentle quiet spirit is attractive to men?

* It doesn’t!

We are told it is “of great worth in God’s sight.” You are not being gentle and quiet, or working on your inner beauty for man’s praise or attention. It is all for Christ. He treasures this, thus look only to Him.

I sometimes struggle in my self-worth, wondering if there is something wrong with me. My limited experiences in romance don’t help me feel more confident about my outer or inner beauty. Luckily, that’s not what life is about.

My worth is in Him. My beauty is in His eyes. When I choose, what is right and pure over what is attractive and exciting, the Lord treasures it. He treasures me.

Why would I ever want more than that?

4 thoughts on “God’s Sight

  1. YES YES YES, A MILLION TIMES YES! Do I have your permission to use at least part of this blog as a quoted paragraph in my 2nd book, Pure Womanhood? I do not want you to feel obligated, but I treasure this attitude so highly.

Leave a Reply

